Home > Knowledge café

Knowledge cafÉ

R Mukundan Managing Director and CEO, Tata Chemicals

Mr Sumit Sharma Associate Director, Earth Science and Climate Change, TERI

Mr Takehiko Nakao President, Asian Development Bank

Mr Kjell Magne Bondevik Former Prime Minister, Norway & President, The Oslo Center for Peace and Human Rights

Ms Mary Robinson Former President, Ireland & UN Secretary-General's Special Envoy for Climate Change

Dr José Ramos-Horta Former President, East Timor & Chair, High Level Independent Panel on Peace Operations, United Nations

Mr Kailash Satyarthi Founder, Bachpan Bachao Andolan & Chairperson, Global March Against Child Labour

Mr Venkatesh Valluri Chairman and President, Ingersoll Rand

Ms Lise Grande UN Resident Coordinator & UNDP Resident Representative, United Nations Development Programme, India

Mr Achim Steiner UN Under-Secretary-General and UNEP Executive Director

Dr Kandeh K Yumkella Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Sustainable Energy for All & Chief Executive Officer of the Sustainable Energy for All

Dr Yuan Tseh Lee Nobel Laureate & President, International Council for Science

Mr Kofi Annan Chairman, Kofi Annan Foundation & Former Secretary-General, United Nations

Mr William Hammink Mission Director, USAID, India

Ms Tarja Halonen Former President of Finland

Dr Mariyam Shakeela Minister of Environment and Energy, Maldives

Mr Donald Ramotar President, Guyana

Mr Anote Tong President, Kiribati

Mr Marcin Korolec Minister of Environment, Poland

Mr Krishan Dhawan Chief Executive Officer, Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation

Mr Michael Christiansen Chairman of the Board, Danish Cultural Institute (DCI), Denmark

Mr Zubin Irani Senior Managing Director - Commercial Companies, United Technologies Corporation (UTC), India

Lord John Prescott Former Deputy Prime Minister & Member of Parliament, House of Lords, UK

Dr Naoko Ishii CEO & Chairperson, Global Environment Facility

Mr Martin Hiller Director General, Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Partnership (REEEP)

Mr Donald Kaberuka President, African Development Bank

Mr Haruhiko Kuroda President, Asian Development Bank

Mr Thomas L Friedman Foreign Affairs Columnist, The New York Times

Prof. Jeffrey D. Sachs Director of The Earth Institute at Columbia University & Special Advisor to the Secretary-General of the United Nations

Prof. Joseph Stiglitz Professor, Columbia University and Nobel laureate

Mr Kjell Magne Bondevik

Former Prime Minister, Norway & President, The Oslo Center for Peace and Human Rights

At the Keynote Address during DSDS 2015, Mr Kjell Magne Bondevik stated that countries with abundant natural resources generally have less economic growth. In his view, corruption is the major contributor for this trend. He also highlighted the fact that companies bring expertise and labour from their own countries, which leads to poor capacity building for the host country. He concluded on an optimistic note reiterating the numerous opportunities that exist to utilize natural resources to improve the standard of living of poor people, in spite of the pitfalls that lie along the journey.